Posted in: love stories, love story, mystery, romance novel, time travel fiction

Time Travel Novels — Escape to Other Times

I love time travel novels that focus on love and mystery. Do you need a good read that lets you escape — lifting you out of your worries or concerns. Want to escape for a few evenings that’s romantic, adventurous, and emotionally satisfying? I know I need such stories right now. Here are three books I’ve read that combine all those elements — with a Youtube link to a song for each book!

Posted in: Bernini, Diana Gabaldon, love stories, love story, magical realism fiction, magical realism novels, romance novels set in italy, romantic time travel, sarah addison allen, susanna kearsley, time travel fiction

Interview with the Main Character – The Renaissance Club

Today I’m interviewing May Gold, the character in my time travel romance novel, The Renaissance Club. Perfect for fans of Susanna Kearsley and Diana Gabaldon, the story has been called “enchanting, rich, and romantic”!

May a young art historian whose career ambitions are frustrated and whose love relationship is disintegrating, goes on a tour of Renaissance Italy with her teaching colleagues. When she steps through a fold in time she meets her 17th century artist hero, Gianlorenzo Bernini, face to his handsome face and falls into a passionate dilemma. Can love conquer time, and can it span the centuries between them? Read More “Interview with the Main Character – The Renaissance Club”

Posted in: Amazon reviews, book promotion, love stories, love story

Time Travel and Romance – A Perfect Combination

In a new review for The Renaissance Club, one reader summed up the story: “Time travel and romance, a perfect combination.” I think so too, and it thrills me when someone loves my love story between the Italian genius Bernini and a young art historian who falls through a fold in time. To get a copy and leave your own review, click on THE RENAISSANCE CLUB. Read More “Time Travel and Romance – A Perfect Combination”

Posted in: love stories, love story, time travel, time travel romance novel, Time-travel novel, writing tips

Love stories — 3 reasons we adore them

Love stories — three reasons we adore them: 1) love is essential to wellbeing, 2) stories are essential maneuvering through life, and 3) every love is unique. Are our brains hardwired for stories? Story Genius author and master story coach Lisa Cron thinks humans evolved by learning how to solve problems through hearing stories. And if there’s one big problem in your life, it probably has the tag “love” on it. Read More “Love stories — 3 reasons we adore them”

Posted in: free preview, love story, Magical realism, novel, pre-order, publication, publishing novels, Uncategorized

Illustrated Preview of my novel The Renaissance Club, and countdown to launch!

It’s starting to feel like the countdown to the offical launch of my novel, The Renaissance Club, in January! As the daughter of a rocket scientist, I have to use rocket metaphors in connection with the word “launch”. Very soon you’ll be able to pre-order my book on Amazon. And also soon, I’ll host a giveaway. My giveaway will include another good read, signed paperback copies of my book of poems and essays, Gods of Water and Air, as well as other prizes.

To celebrate, I’m sharing this free preview of the first two chapters. This free preview is the newest, updated version of the book that will be printed or sold as an ebook. It includes a brand new prologue! So here, without further ado, is …

The Renaissance Club, A Novel

ROME

Prologue. The Folds of Time.

If you could go anywhere in time, where would you go? George remembered being asked that question in fourth grade by his best friend Timmy, who was reading it aloud from the famous science-fiction novel, Time’s Wily Thief. Sitting in his favorite neighborhood trattoria in Rome, he wasn’t sure why he remembered that.  Maybe because Ancient Rome was one of his favorite places to visit.

George St. James stirred his cappuccino and contemplated a file describing the people he would lead in his next tour group. He would guide a group of college teachers, who called themselves The Renaissance Club, through Northern Italy to study sites of importance to the dawn of the modern era, known as the Italian Renaissance. For the next several weeks, he would shepherd twelve mostly aging professors through more than one hundred sites. Norman, their leader and club organizer, had sent George a wish list for the ages. George would have to pace them, or they’d drop before they left Rome.

Read More “Illustrated Preview of my novel The Renaissance Club, and countdown to launch!”

Posted in: #amreading, #amwriting, #fiction, aimee bender, ghost story, love story, Magical realism, magical realism fiction, sarah addison allen, susanna kearsley, women's fiction

Magical Realism in Women’s Fiction

Magical realism in women’s fiction gives the reader and writer a broader canvas of possibilities. When you’re reading about women and their relationships (the broad definition of women’s fiction), elements of magic provide visual ways to describe a character’s feelings, frame internal events, and create adventures. Magical realism in women’s fiction can be small touches or big events, such as time travel. I used two magical realism elements in my novel The Renaissance Club , a butterfly emanating from a woman’s mouth when she answers her lover  Read More “Magical Realism in Women’s Fiction”

Posted in: #amwriting, #fiction, craft of fiction, holidays, loss, love story, novel, novel writing, poetry, Writing

Holidays Are for Writing and Reading As Well as Socializing

In the spirit of the holidays now upon us, I’d like to offer some fodder for those quiet times you find amid the activities and social life. Reading for me leads to writing, so I often start my writing day by either progressing in a novel or reading several poems. Sometimes digging into a craft […]