Posted in: Magical realism, magical realism fiction, National Novel Writing Month, sisters, women's fiction, women's fiction novel

NaNoWriMo in Writing Women’s Fiction

NaNoWriMo for women’s fiction writers seems like an oxymoron. Writing about women and their relationships requires careful, deep creativity. National Novel Writing Month urges speed and volume of words. As a writer of upmarket, magical realism fiction, I’ve nevertheless found NaNoWriMo invvaluable. It’s helped me build my craft and my writing life in several ways. […]

Posted in: Grand Central, Magical realism, magical realism fiction, magical realism novels, magical realism story, time travel fiction

Magical realism book review: Time After Time

I bought Time After Time by Lisa Grunwald because it was listed on Amazon under Time Travel Romance. I’d say Amazon should invent a new category: Magical Realism Romance. This captivating love story, set in a meticulously detailed historic Grand Central Station, itself an otherworldly but actual setting, is in a class by itself. Nora […]

Posted in: fantasy novel, magical realism fiction, magical realism novels, time travel fiction, Time-travel novel

Preview — New Time Travel Novel, TIMEGATHERED

Many readers of my time travel novel The Renaissance Club have connected with my time travel guide, George St. James, so I’ve made him the hero of my new time travel novel. Timegathered is the story of George in his youth, and how he became a time traveler, realizing his innate potential for slipping between the folds of time into other periods of history.

Here’s a taste of George discovering his ability to timegather:

When George returned home to 2050, his head was buzzing with an electric guitar’s spangled notes. Hours of hauling equipment for his band, Curdled, left him with sore muscles and psychedelic earworms. Both effects could last for days, but at seventeen, living with the reverberating whine of a high note was a sick background noise to homework.

As soon as he returned to his dining room, the butler caught him. “What do you think you’re doing, young man?” The permafrost in Sanders’ voice deepened to a chip off a glacier.

George startled. “I was just …” he thought fast “… doing research for my essay on the medieval university.”

“Research? Where, in the pantry?”   Read More “Preview — New Time Travel Novel, TIMEGATHERED”

Posted in: Baroque, beautiful italian art, Bernini, magical realism fiction, time travel romance novel, Time-travel novel

Interview with the main character Bernini – The Renaissance Club

Today I’m interviewing Gianlorenzo Bernini, the other main character in my time travel novel, The Renaissance Club, a story that has been called “enchanting, rich, and romantic”! The 17th century genius artist Gianlorenzo Bernini is the hero of my time travel novel, and the passionate interest of May Gold, a young art historian who specializes in his masterpieces. Read More “Interview with the main character Bernini – The Renaissance Club”

Posted in: Bernini, Diana Gabaldon, love stories, love story, magical realism fiction, magical realism novels, romance novels set in italy, romantic time travel, sarah addison allen, susanna kearsley, time travel fiction

Interview with the Main Character – The Renaissance Club

Today I’m interviewing May Gold, the character in my time travel romance novel, The Renaissance Club. Perfect for fans of Susanna Kearsley and Diana Gabaldon, the story has been called “enchanting, rich, and romantic”!

May a young art historian whose career ambitions are frustrated and whose love relationship is disintegrating, goes on a tour of Renaissance Italy with her teaching colleagues. When she steps through a fold in time she meets her 17th century artist hero, Gianlorenzo Bernini, face to his handsome face and falls into a passionate dilemma. Can love conquer time, and can it span the centuries between them? Read More “Interview with the Main Character – The Renaissance Club”

Posted in: Magical realism, magical realism fiction, magical realism novels, magical realism story

The Time-Blossoming Birthday Cake – A Magical Realism Story

This is my account of the Time-Blossoming Birthday Cake.

It was given to me by a cousin I hadn’t met before. George St. James heard about my 30th birthday party from another cousin, Maria, who called to ask if she could bring our relative because he was visiting her in the city and she thought I’d enjoy meeting him.

George not only came with Maria, he brought me a gift — a small, beautiful cake covered in rosebuds. We already had three other cakes, so Cousin George suggested I save it for later. Read More “The Time-Blossoming Birthday Cake – A Magical Realism Story”

Posted in: magical realism fiction, Renaissance romance novel, romance novels set in italy

Romance Novels Set in Italy

Romance Novels Set in Italy — Isn’t It Romantic?

Have you read any romance novels set in Italy? Hard to imagine a more  delicious setting for love to blossom — the friendly climate, the warm people, the food, the passionate way Italians live. And while you’re dallying with a (fictional) handsome Italian, you’re munching on fabulous pasta and looking at gorgeous art. Longing for a romantic book like that?  I have a list for you, below.

Read More “Romance Novels Set in Italy”

Posted in: #amreading, Magical realism, magical realism fiction, mystery

Books with Magic – More Exciting Reading Adventures

I recently discovered a new author who has given me many exciting reading adventures and has also become a role model for me as an author. Gigi Pandian is a writer who decided to go her own way and play outside the box, only to find the box was following her. Read More “Books with Magic – More Exciting Reading Adventures”

Posted in: fantasy novel, Magical realism, magical realism fiction, novels of hope, reading

Need a Lift? Books with Magic for Delightful Summer Reading

Books with Magic for Delightful Summer Reading

Three books with magic to uplift your summer reading, to inspire hope and lift you into a world of new possibilities. Books of fun, magic, and humanity. Summer is a magical time, and reading is one of its great pleasure. With my magic wand, I’m conjuring three novels to lift your summer reading onto a magic carpet.

What makes us crave magic in stories? We want to be inspired, to hope, and to be lifted into a world of new possibilities. We want to walk a shimmering path to become more than we are. The very telling of a tale implies that we’ll be lifted out of our ordinary reality. Read More “Need a Lift? Books with Magic for Delightful Summer Reading”

Posted in: Magical realism, magical realism fiction, speculative fiction, women's fiction, women's fiction novel

What Is Magical Realism Fiction

Exactly what is Magical Realism fiction — what is it, and what differentiates it from fantasy? Since it’s the category I’ve chosen to read most and often write, I think a lot about this. There are many good lists of magical realism fiction. They point toward stories along the whole range of speculative  tfiction, from a small touch of magic in a realistic setting to epic fantasy in other worlds. Read More “What Is Magical Realism Fiction”