Posted in: Baroque, beautiful italian art, Bernini, magical realism fiction, time travel romance novel, Time-travel novel

Interview with the main character Bernini – The Renaissance Club

Today I’m interviewing Gianlorenzo Bernini, the other main character in my time travel novel, The Renaissance Club, a story that has been called “enchanting, rich, and romantic”! The 17th century genius artist Gianlorenzo Bernini is the hero of my time travel novel, and the passionate interest of May Gold, a young art historian who specializes in his masterpieces. Read More “Interview with the main character Bernini – The Renaissance Club”

Posted in: Bernini, Diana Gabaldon, love stories, love story, magical realism fiction, magical realism novels, romance novels set in italy, romantic time travel, sarah addison allen, susanna kearsley, time travel fiction

Interview with the Main Character – The Renaissance Club

Today I’m interviewing May Gold, the character in my time travel romance novel, The Renaissance Club. Perfect for fans of Susanna Kearsley and Diana Gabaldon, the story has been called “enchanting, rich, and romantic”!

May a young art historian whose career ambitions are frustrated and whose love relationship is disintegrating, goes on a tour of Renaissance Italy with her teaching colleagues. When she steps through a fold in time she meets her 17th century artist hero, Gianlorenzo Bernini, face to his handsome face and falls into a passionate dilemma. Can love conquer time, and can it span the centuries between them? Read More “Interview with the Main Character – The Renaissance Club”

Posted in: Bernini, romantic, The Renaissance Club, time travel

Wonderful review of my novel The Renaissance Club

The month-long blog tour arranged by my publisher, Fiery Seas, has yielded a wonderful, thoughtful review of my novel The Renaissance Club. I’m very pleased at today’s review on the book blog, What Cathy Read Next. This sensitive reviewer has visited some of the places in the book — Rome and Venice — and seen some of Bernini’s art. One of my favorite paragraphs in the review connects my writing as a poet with descriptions of the carnival of beauty that is Italian Renaissance art.

Read More “Wonderful review of my novel The Renaissance Club”

Posted in: artist, Bernini, Renaissance, The Renaissance Club, time travel, time travel romance novel, Time-travel novel, travel to italy, Uncategorized

If You Could Travel into the Past, What Good Could You Do?

If you suddenly found you could time travel, what good could you hope to do by traveling into the past? Could you time travel to prevent a war or a plague? Would you want to ensure that friendly, intelligent aliens landing on our planet weren’t obliterated by weed-killer? Would you want to change your own history to become richer, more successful, or healthier? Would you try to spare someone close to you a catastrophe?

Some of those things are the goal of my main character, May Gold, in The Renaissance Club (now available for pre-order on Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Apple Books, and Kobo). Time travel has been a philosophical problem ever since someone devised it. It’s the problem I asked myself as I sent May back to the 17th century.

And it’s a question I kept pondering as I thought about George St. James, the club’s guide to Renaissance Italy, and for a few the guide to time traveling.

Why did George have this gift? How did he decide to use it only to aid others? In George’s case, time travel appears to be genetic. His grandmother had the ability, though neither of his parents did. But I’m getting ahead of myself, because that’s not in the prologue of The Renaissance Club. It will appear in my third novel, Time’s Wily Thief, which features George St. James.

In The Renaissance Club, art historian May Gold time travels with George’s aid, and she finds herself face-to-face with her hero, 17th century Italian sculptor Gianlorenzo Bernini. As she goes back and forth into his timeline, she starts trying to change things in his life, to prevent disasters that impeded his art.

Read More “If You Could Travel into the Past, What Good Could You Do?”

Posted in: #fiction, assisi, Bernini, florence, Italy, novel, siena, Uncategorized, venice, Writing

A Pinterest Illustration Board for The Renaissance Club

Many people haven’t been to Italy, and without visiting there, it’s almost impossible to see the work of Gianlorenzo Bernini. My time-travel novel,  The Renaissance Club, (now available for pre-order on Amazon in either paperback or ebook) features not only his art, but Bernini himself. It’s set in five Italian cities rich with art and beautiful architecture: Rome, Assisi, Siena, Florence, and Venice. Rome especially features his expressive, passionate art. He’s the genius artist of the 17th century, and the idol of the protagonist, young art historian May Gold. Their meeting through the shifting folds of time occurs often near one of Bernini’s artworks.

To help you see the places and sculptures in the book, I created The Renaissance Club Pinterest Illustration Board, illustrating my time-travel novel and has sections for all the cities May Gold visits on her tour of Northern Italy with her Renaissance Club colleagues. All the Bernini art she sees is included, along with places and art associated with time adventures by other characters.

Take a tour of Renaissance Italy — in both May’s contemporary time, and Gianlorenzo Bernini’s 17th century — while you read The Renaissance Club.

AVAILABLE NOW FOR PRE-ORDER ON AMAZON.

Read More “A Pinterest Illustration Board for The Renaissance Club”

Posted in: #amwriting, #fiction, art history, Bernini, Italy, novel, Renaissance, The Renaissance Club, time travel, Time-travel novel

FREE preview chapter of The Renaissance Club, my time travel novel, a love story

In case you haven’t read about this already, I’m giving away a free chapter of The Renaissance Club, due to be published by Fiery Seas Publishing in January 2018. You can claim one from Instafreebie here, or simply by going to my website.  Would you give up everything, even the time in which you live, […]

Posted in: #fiction, beautiful italian art, Bernini, Italy, novel, novel writing, passion, passionate art, passionate Italian art, romantic, sculpture, time travel, travel, travel to italy, why go to italy

Why Italy and Bernini? 5 Reasons You Should Go to Italy

What’s so great about Italy, and why did I spend many years of my life writing about it, culiminating in my novel The Renaissance Club, which features Italian sculptor Gianlorenzo Bernini? Good questions. What I keep coming up with is that Italy is Bernini, and Bernini, Italy. I mean the place is full of gorgeous, […]

Posted in: author, Bernini, casting, feedback, James McAvoy, movie, The Renaissance Club, website

New website for THE RENAISSANCE CLUB – my novel’s upcoming debut

New novel, new author website. Sounds simple, doesn’t it? I’ve looked at so many author sites and the ones that stick with me are SO SIMPLE! Simple is hard. And I’m short of funds to pay a really great designer. As the daughter of a painter, however, I have my esthetic tastes, and as the […]

Posted in: 17th century, artist, Bernini, casting, film version of a novel, hot actors, sex appeal, The Renaissance Club

Casting the Film Bernini from My Novel THE RENAISSANCE CLUB

The Renaissance Club by Rachel Dacus, Fiery Seas Publishing (forthcoming). That felt good to type! Today I’m handing over my final manuscript to the publisher. It feels like handing over the controls of my airplane in mid-flight. Next, they wrap the book with a cover. Very important element. I can’t help but  imagine casting Gianlorenzo […]

Posted in: Bernini, ghost, imaginary friend, Italy, Magical realism, novel, Shelley, superpower

All My Imaginary Friends Have Superpowers

Because shouldn’t we all have a little extra help? And also a friend you can always talk to, who understands everything the way you see it, or even if he doesn’t, has wisdom gently offered? Yes, everyone should have this. In my completed novel, THE RENAISSANCE CLUB, (watch for announcement of its debut date), Renaissance genius […]