Poet, Novelist, and Essayist Rachel Dacus

The Renaissance Club is my contemporary romance novel set in Italy. Bestselling author Kerry Lonsdale called it “Enchanting, rich, and romantic, a poetic journey through the folds of time.” Fans of Susanna Kearsley and Diana Gabaldon will love this magical realism romance, the story of a passionate 17th century artist who meets his superfan from the future.

New reviews of my recent poetry book Arabesque, (FutureCycle Press, 2018):

“Rachel Dacus’ poetry sings and celebrates the body and spirit in form and function, freedom and flight. Throughout this world of journey and process, here and there, she acclaims what underlies, immutable.” —Jeff Santosuosso, Editor-in-Chief, Panoply.

“Dacus displays fine control of the traditional image of the bird/poet, making the goldfinch a personal emblem. A number of the poems in Arabesque demonstrate this caliber of art.” — Maria Rouphail’s review in The Pedestal Magazine

Scroll down to sign up for my quarterly newsletter and get news of giveaways, books I like, writing and publishing tips, and new poems.

Also check out my blog for reading lists and notes on the writing path. I’d love to hear what you’re reading! Write to me.

Save

Save

The_Renaissance_Club_1600x2500

THE RENAISSANCE CLUB, a novel

May Gold, a young art historian, slips through a fold in time while traveling in Italy. She meets her artist hero from the past — but will May’s adventure in time ruin her life, or lead to a magical new one? Find out — pick up your copy today or read on Kindle Unlimited. Can love conquer even time?

“Enchanting, rich and romantic.”
– Kerry Lonsdale, bestselling author of Everything We Keep and the Everything series.

Read More

The Renaissance Club, a novel

RACHEL DACUS’ POETRY COLLECTIONS

Poetry collection by Rachel Dacus

Praise for the Poetry

“Rachel Dacus’ poetry sings and celebrates the body and spirit in form and function, freedom and flight. Throughout this world of journey and process, here and there, she acclaims what underlies, immutable.” — Jeff Santosuosso, Editor-in-Chief, Panoply.

“Rachel Dacus directs her steady gaze on art’s meticulous and sometimes maddening labor, on the deep grief and explosive beauty of a daughter’s attachment to her fading father.” – Deema Shehabi, author, Thirteen Departures from the Moon

“What a treat! Poems that float off the lips and tongue and into the soul.” – Amazon Review

Rachel’s books on Amazon.

Gods of Water and Air by Rachel Dacus, poetry book

 

 

 

About Rachel

San Francisco Bay area author and poet, Rachel DacusI love writing in many forms: poems, novels, plays, memoirs, and essays. My work has appeared in journals that include Atlanta Review, Boulevard, Prairie Schooner, and Valparaiso Poetry Review. I live in the San Francisco area, where I pretend I’m a tourist, sampling the natural beauty, diverse culture, the beautiful city, the fresh air and water, and of course scads of wineries. This all reminds of Italy, where I often set my stories.

Latest Blogs

  • Indie Author Do’s & Don’ts — my Collection #1

    I knew the day would come, when I’d be an Indie author who had amassed a collection of Indie Author Do’s & Don’ts. Now I’m sharing my collection of Indie Author Do’s & Don’ts. How to promote your book but not leave your Muse behind in the process. Put your new work first! I’ve spent […]

  • Isn’t It Romantic? More Novels Set in Italy

    Isn’t It Romantic? If you can’t travel to this romantic, beautiful land, you can fall in love reading novels set in italy. They take you to what may be everyone’s dream getaway destination. Read my earlier post on this for a long list. Here are some added romantic novels, and even some romantic nonfiction books […]

  • Unlikely Writing Places for Inspiration

    Unlikely writing places for insiration? I’ve got tons. I write best in unlikely places, and I’m always looking for new ones. I’m also a peripatetic writer: Have Laptop Will Travel. Soemtimes changing where you write changes everything about what you write. Weird ones that work for me: the shower (I need a waterproof phone), my […]

My Quarterly Newsletter

Sign up here for news, writing tips, giveaways, and more. I’ll be sharing author interviews, recommended reading, and reader recommendations. If you love to read uplifting fiction and poetry, sign up!