Poet, Novelist, and Essayist Rachel Dacus

The Renaissance Club, a novel called “Enchanting, rich, and romantic, a poetic journey through the folds of time”. Perfect for fans of Susanna Kearsley and Diana Gabaldon, this is the love story of a 17th century Italian artist who meets his superfan from another era.

My newest poetry book is Arabesque, released  by FutureCycle Press at the beginning of September!  Available in all the stores where you can find The Renaissance Club. I’m working on a new novel, The Invisibles, a story of two half-sisters, their inherited cottage  in Italy, and its resident spirit, the poet Percy Bysshe Shelley. A prequel to The Renaissance Club is also in the works. Yes, I love to write! I blog about the creative life and  writing.

My quarterly newsletter has giveaways, book recommendations, and always a new poem. I’d like to hear what you’re reading.

Save

Save

The_Renaissance_Club_1600x2500

THE RENAISSANCE CLUB, a novel

May Gold, a young art historian, slips through a fold in time while traveling in Italy. She meets her artist hero from the past — but will May’s adventure in time ruin her life, or lead to a magical new one? Find out — pick up your copy today or read on Kindle Unlimited. Can love conquer even time?

“Enchanting, rich and romantic.”
– Kerry Lonsdale, bestselling author of Everything We Keep and the Everything series.

Read More

The Renaissance Club, a novel

GODS OF WATER AND AIR, A Collection of Poetry & Prose

Poetry and inspiration after loss

“Rachel Dacus directs her steady gaze on art’s meticulous and sometimes maddening labor, on the deep grief and explosive beauty of a daughter’s attachment to her fading father.” – Deema Shehabi, author, Thirteen Departures from the Moon

“What a treat! Poems that float off the lips and tongue and into the soul.” – Amazon Review

Learn more
Gods of Water and Air by Rachel Dacus, poetry book

 

 

 

About Rachel

San Francisco Bay area author and poet, Rachel DacusI love writing in many forms: poems, novels, plays, memoirs, and essays. My work has appeared in journals that include Atlanta Review, Boulevard, Prairie Schooner, and Valparaiso Poetry Review. I live in the San Francisco area, where I pretend I’m a tourist, sampling the natural beauty, diverse culture, the beautiful city, the fresh air and water, and of course scads of wineries. This all reminds of Italy, where I often set my stories.

Latest Blogs

  • Unlikely Writing Places for Inspiration

    Unlikely writing places for insiration? I’ve got tons. I write best in unlikely places, and I’m always looking for new ones. I’m also a peripatetic writer: Have Laptop Will Travel. Soemtimes changing where you write changes everything about what you write. Weird ones that work for me: the shower (I need a waterproof phone), my […]

  • Inspiration, Ideas, and Empowering Your Creativity

    I asked myself today why I’m writing a blog — and these words popped into my mind: inspiration, ideas, empowering your creativity. I write this as a writer’s journal, not a how-to write, not craft articles, and not how to query agents and get published. You can find better authorities on those things. This is […]

  • Girl Reading by Lamplight

    I’ve been a bit absent from this blog — for explanation see this mysterious, lovely painting. I’ve been a Girl Reading by LampLight, only in my case the light is that of my Kindle. It’s amazing how enriching it is to read stories of every kind. I give myself permission to stop doing and have […]

My Quarterly Newsletter

Sign up here for news, writing tips, giveaways, and more. I’ll be sharing author interviews, recommended reading, and reader recommendations. If you love to read uplifting fiction and poetry, sign up!