The Renaissance Club

Would you give up everything, even the time in which you live, to be with your soul mate? That’s the question asked in my novel, The Renaissance Club, forthcoming from Fiery Seas Publishing in January 2018. May Gold, a college adjunct teacher, often dreams about the subject of her master’s thesis—Gianlorenzo Bernini. In her fantasies, she’s in his arms, the wildly adored partner of the man who invented the Baroque. But in reality, May has just landed in Rome with her teaching colleagues and older boyfriend. She considers herself a precocious failure and yearns to unleash her passion and creative spirit. Over the course of the tour, she realizes she has to choose: stay in a safe but stagnant existence or take a risk. Will May’s adventure in time ruin her life or lead to a magical new one?

Pre-Order – in eBook or Paperback, for delivery Jan 23

Praise for The Renaissance Club

Enchanting, rich and romantic…a poetic journey through the folds of time. In The Renaissance Club, passion, art, and history come together in this captivating tale of one woman’s quest to discover her true self and the life she’s meant to lead. Rachel Dacus deftly crafts a unique and spellbinding twist to the time-traveling adventure that’s perfect for fans of Susanna Kearsley and Diana Gabaldon.

— Kerry Lonsdale, Wall Street Journal Bestselling Author

The Renaissance Club will be released from Fiery Seas Publishing January 23, 2018.
It will be available at Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Kobo, and iBooks.

Italy, a Main Character

Because Italy is so rich in sensory experiences, it’s a main character in The Renaissance Club. Its rich tapestry weaves together the timeless romance between May and Gianlorenzo. The possibility of living in this beautiful place influences May’s choice, as she’s in the end pulled to choose between risking all for a great love and returning to the life she knows. It’s easy to fall in love with Italy. Just one bite of a rich, creamy risotto that has an aroma like violets. A sip of prosecco in an outdoor caffe that’s a stone’s throw away from the magnificent Renaissance Duomo in Florence. Its beauty appeals to the senses. You can fall hard for this country when you take a bite of seafood linguine while sitting next to the jeweled arches of palazzos on Venice’s Grand Canal. May falls in love with Italy as she connects with one of its great geniuses, Bernini, and makes a promise to both:

“I will come back to you through the doorway of stars.”


You can see more of Rachel’s writing on Italy in the wonderful anthology, Italy: A Love Story: Women Write About the Italian Experience (Seal Press).

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save