The Renaissance Club

Would you give up everything, even the time in which you live, to be with your soul mate? That’s the question my novel The Renaissance Club asks.

May Gold, a college adjunct teacher, often dreams about the subject of her master’s thesis—Gianlorenzo Bernini. In her fantasies, she’s in his arms, the wildly adored partner of the man who invented the Baroque.

But in reality, May has just landed in Rome with her teaching colleagues and older boyfriend. She considers herself a precocious failure and yearns to unleash her passion and creative spirit. Over the course of the tour, she realizes she has to choose: stay in a safe but stagnant existence or take a risk. Will May’s adventure in time ruin her life or lead to a magical new one?

Enchanting, rich and romantic…a poetic journey through the folds of time. In The Renaissance Club, passion, art, and history come together in this captivating tale of one woman’s quest to discover her true self and the life she’s meant to lead. Rachel Dacus deftly crafts a unique and spellbinding twist to the time-traveling adventure that’s perfect for fans of Susanna Kearsley and Diana Gabaldon.

— Kerry Lonsdale, Wall Street Journal Bestselling Author

The Renaissance Club is forthcoming from from Fiery Seas Publishing in 2018.

It’s easy to fall in love with Italy. Just one bite of a rich, creamy risotto that has an aroma like violets. A sip of prosecco in an outdoor caffe that’s a stone’s throw away from the magnificent Renaissance Duomo in Florence. It doesn’t take much to start a love affair with a country. Italy is very much in the mouth and in the moment. It can happen when you go to a shoe store and pull out something with an Italian label. Trying it on, you feel like a Cinecitta film star and whisper, “Ciao, Bello!” to an entire place.

In The Renaissance Club, Italy is the third main character. It’s the tapestry into which the romance between May and Gianlorenzo is woven. It’s a factor in May’s ultimate choice, as she’s pulled between a great love in a new country and returning to the life she knows.

“I will come back to you through the doorway of stars.”


You can see more of Rachel’s writing on Italy in the wonderful anthology, Italy: A Love Story: Women Write About the Italian Experience (Seal Press).

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save