Poet, Novelist, and Essayist Rachel Dacus

The Renaissance Club, a novel called “Enchanting, rich, and romantic”. Perfect for fans of Susanna Kearsley and Diana Gabaldon, this is the story of a 17th century Italian artist who meets his superfan from another era. Can love conquer time?

My newest poetry book is Arabesque, released  by FutureCycle Press at the beginning of September!  Available in all the stores where you can find The Renaissance Club. I’m working on a new novel, The Invisibles, a story of two half-sisters, their inherited cottage  in Italy, and its resident spirit, the poet Percy Bysshe Shelley. A prequel to The Renaissance Club is also in the works. Yes, I love to write! I blog about the creative life and  writing.

Sign up to my newsletter for news, giveaways, book recommendations, and more.  Thanks for visiting!

Save

Save

The_Renaissance_Club_1600x2500

THE RENAISSANCE CLUB, a novel

May Gold, a young art historian, slips through a fold in time while traveling in Italy and meets her hero from the past — but will May’s adventure in time ruin her life, or lead to a magical new one? Find out — pick up your copy today and find out if love can conquer even time.

“Enchanting, rich and romantic.”
– Kerry Lonsdale, bestselling author of Everything We Keep

Read More

The Renaissance Club, a novel

GODS OF WATER AND AIR, A Collection of Poetry & Prose

Poetry and inspiration after loss

“Rachel Dacus directs her steady gaze on art’s meticulous and sometimes maddening labor, on the deep grief and explosive beauty of a daughter’s attachment to her fading father.” – Deema Shehabi, author, Thirteen Departures from the Moon

“What a treat! Poems that float off the lips and tongue and into the soul.” – Amazon Review

Learn more
Gods of Water and Air by Rachel Dacus, poetry book

 

 

 

About Rachel

San Francisco Bay area author and poet, Rachel DacusI love writing in many forms: poems, novels, plays, memoirs, and essays. My work has appeared in journals that include Atlanta Review, Boulevard, Prairie Schooner, and Valparaiso Poetry Review. I live in the San Francisco area, where I pretend I’m a tourist, sampling the natural beauty, diverse culture, the beautiful city, the fresh air and water, and of course scads of wineries. This all reminds of Italy, where I often set my stories.

Latest Blogs

  • Interview with the Main Character – The Renaissance Club

    Today I’m interviewing May Gold, the character in my time travel romance novel, The Renaissance Club. Perfect for fans of Susanna Kearsley and Diana Gabaldon, the story has been called “enchanting, rich, and romantic”! May a young art historian whose career ambitions are frustrated and whose love relationship is disintegrating, goes on a tour of […]

  • The Time-Blossoming Birthday Cake – A Magical Realism Story, Part 2

    The Time-Blossoming Birthday Cake – Part 2 The magenta rosebud I picked off the rose-covered birthday cake given to me by Cousin George is now in full flower. The cake is still in the fridge. I’m afraid to cut a slice and eat it, because when I took this rosebud off and put it into […]

  • Considering Magical Realism in Poetry

    Magical Realism in Poetry This example of magical realism poetry is mine, from my book Femme au Chapeau: A Pot of Humuhumunukunukuapua’a In a store I saw a one-cup teapot shaped like a fish I once met under the waves at Puako Beach. Short as a thumb, he had a name longer than the curving […]

My Quarterly Newsletter

Sign up here for news, writing tips, giveaways, and more. I’ll be sharing author interviews, recommended reading, and reader recommendations. If you love to read uplifting fiction and poetry, sign up!